Finding the time

After 35 years working 5 days a week, I decided that I really didn't want to work any more, so took the plunge and retired. I think I've found the recipe for a happy life, if not a wealthy one… I'm Finding the Time – are you?

Who is Kim?

My name is Kim Wright. I’m a 50-something married woman with 2 grown up children. I live  just outside the small seaside town of Weston-super-Mare in Somerset, UK, with my husband of over 30 years. I’ve created this blog to celebrate having some time for me – Kim time! Read on and I’ll explain…

I have worked at least 5 days a week since I was 18, firstly as a trainee nurse, then as an RGN (Registered General Nurse).

I left the UK National Health Service (NHS) for about 2 years in the mid to late 1980’s, to have my children . No time off then though, as I worked full-time as a childminder, as well as selling Tupperware in my spare time.

In the 1990’s, when the children were small, I undertook a part-time BSc (Hons) in Nursing Studies in Bristol, UK, followed by a part time MSc in Health Informatics in London. I was, of course, working full-time as a nurse as well as studying.

Finally, for the last 20 years, I have worked full-time in and around the NHS, managing projects and programmes.

The children are grown up and have lives of their own – and have not yet supplied me with grandchildren! My husband is content sharing his daytime hours between golf and work. The boys (Bailey, a chocolate lab, and Harvey, his younger golden lab best friend)  are happy with 2 walks a day and a nice comfy doggy bed.

So, in my mid-50’s, I found myself able to work 4 days a week instead of 5. I was determined to make the most of my new-found ‘Kim’ time. My blog was born from sharing my first two Fridays off work with a local Facebook group, and finding lots of interest. I started my blog with my first Friday off – a visit to the commemorative installation in Bristol of 19240 Shrouds of the Somme.

An update – January 2018!

Plenty has happened since November 2016 when I first went part-time, and started this blog. I’ve retired completely from my NHS career to do things that satisfy me. I’m now a part-time ambulance driver/care assistant as well as a freelance writer. I also spend half a day a week doing a bit of voluntary work for Marie Curie.

I’m loving my new life – rich in reward, if not in cash!

I hope you enjoy my middle-aged ramblings. The pictures are all my own, taken on my phone. Please feel free to send me any comments or suggestions you have about my blog. I would love to hear from you.

Kim

%d bloggers like this: